Post-Holiday Workout

Typically I use level of soreness I feel in my muscles the day after a workout as an indicator of how successful the workout was.

If I wake up the next day feeling completely normal, i.e. not sore, I figure the workout needs to be tweaked a little. This might mean using heavier weights or doing a different movement so I’m still working the muscles I want to work; just in a different way.

If I wake up with the good sore muscle feeling that sticks around for the rest of the day- that’s when I know I created a sequence that really worked.

This was one of those mornings. I felt it (and still feel it at 4pm the next day) in my triceps, obliques, AND biceps. Yay for a solid workout!

Here’s what I did:

 

Image
I did the running portion of the workout at a quicker pace than I would typically do my warm-up because, let’s face it, there was a lot of food this weekend what with it being Easter. Whenever I have a weekend that feels like it’s ALL about the food, and this weekend was definitely that way, I try to amp up my workouts for the next few days just to get rid of that sluggish sugary feeling that I have.
eggWhen the choice is to either eat Cadbury Cream Eggs and do a harder workout after the holiday or forego the tasty treats, I choose the former 😉

This workout was also the start of something I hope to do more of in the future – cardio before and after the weights.

There have been many workouts where I’ve said to myself “I’ll do 30 minutes of cardio now, then another 10 or so after lifting” and I never end up doing those extra 10 minutes! After finally trying it out this weekend, I found that I really liked it! It was nice to wind down after lifting and that way, I wasn’t so hot and red-faced (verrry attractive, I know) when I went into the locker room to shower.

If you do both cardio and weight training on the same day, do you like to do the cardio before or after (or both!)?

Leave a comment

April 1, 2013 · 1:58 pm

Leave a Reply

