Weird Gym Days

Hello!
Yesterday I had a “Weird Gym Day.”

For me, that happens when I don’t plan out my workout ahead of time. I’m used to typing it up and having it on my phone when I get to the gym and if I don’t do that, it feels kind of thrown together!

Usually, Tuesdays include longer amounts of cardio and Abs so I had that in the back of my mind. Judging by my “sore the next day” rule, my workout ended up being a success because my Abs are sore today!

 

 

The Workout:

I started with 30 minutes on the bike with the intensity at level 10. Every five minutes, I bumped the intensity up to 15 and peddled out of the saddle for one minute.
Those 1-minute intervalls got my heart rate up and also made the time go by a little faster. Always a good thing 🙂
Once 30 minutes was up, I got on the elliptical for 15 minutes and tried to keep my speed around 7.5-8 the whole time. It’s easy for me to space out on the elliptical especially when I’m watching the tv so I try to have a goal for a speed range that I’d like to stay within. That way, if I see that I’m down in the 5 or 6 mph range, I know I started spacing out and need to speed up.

While doing some post-cardio stretching, I thought about which exercises I wanted to do for my Abs.

Here’s how my workout turned out:

weird gym day

Not bad, but I might have been motivated to do more if I had written down a bunch of exercises rather than just making it up in my head 😉 All of these exercises can definitely be done just with your own bodyweight. I only used weights for the roman chair side bend and the dumbell side bend. Maybe that’s why my obliques are more sore than my other abdominal muscles today!

 

 

Random news:
So, we have this new contraption at the gym and it actually kind of freaks me out.

truestretch It’s called the “True Stretch Cage” and while I can see how it would be helpful for stretching, I can’t help but think it looks like some kind of torture device. The first thing my boyfriend said when he saw it was “that looks like it belongs in the Saw movies” and I agree!

It’s definitely a cool idea, though, and I think once I try it out, I’ll change my mind about it 😉

 

Alright, well today’s a day off from the gym for me but tomorrow I’ll be back with a fun workout that I think anyone who spends a lot of time at a desk or in front of a computer will appreciate.

Have a great Wednesday!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

