Working Out While Visiting Family

Hello!
Hopefully everyone is having a great Saturday so far πŸ™‚ Saturdays are my favorite day of the week because I’m nice and rested after not having to get up and go anywhere in the morning and there’s that relaxing feeling of knowing I can get lots done while still having another day off to look forward to!

This weekend is all about birthdays (my boyfriend’s) and visiting with family. Although family time often takes up a good part of the day while here, I like to make sure to get a quick workout in because I know I’ll feel better during the day if I do! Also, there’s going to be a big dinner and the delicious carrot cake later today so I figured it’d be a good idea to do some exercise πŸ˜‰

When I know my workout will be quicker than usual, I like to make it a littleΒ  more intense, just so I feel like I got the most out of my time. Here’s what I did today:

Weekend Workout
So the workout started with me riding an indoor bike trainer (the kind where you’re riding an actual bike but it’s on a stand) for 20 minutes at a decent speed. I remember learning in high school how to tell what kind of intensity level your workout is when you’re not on a machine that tells you your speed/level. The coaches always said that if you can easily carry on a conversation, it’s considered an easy pace. If you can converse but need to stop frequently to take breathing breaks, it’s a moderate pace. If you do not want to talk and find it very difficult to speak at all, it’s an intense workout. I tried to keep moving at a pace where I was out of breath and could talk to someone but wouldn’t really want to.

The wood stove was burning in the living room (which is where the bike is) so after 20 minutes, I was very hot! I took the rest of my workout outside partly to cool off and partly because it involved jumping and I like doing those kind of moves outside to reduce noise πŸ˜‰

The driveway here is about 0.1 miles long so if I run down the driveway to the road and back, that’s a 0.2 mile run! That’s what I did for the running part of the circuit. All three rounds of the circuit were done in succession with no breaks between moves or rounds. I think that’s why it felt quite a bit harder than I anticipated!

All together, the workout took about 30 minutes. It was quick but challenging and now I have all day to hang out and visit with people! Sounds good to me!

In non-exercise news, I thought I’d post a few pictures from the weekend so far πŸ™‚

IMG_8345This is Sandy! He’s my best friend whenever we come to NY. He’s the sweetest cat I’ve ever met and has been hanging out with me since I arrived on Thursday! I wish I could take him back home with me! So cute πŸ™‚

IMG_8363

We got a taste of real spring when we went to a giant garden supply store. These two greenhouses are just a small section of this place. They have another two greenhouses and a building in between where you can buy much more than just plants. I actually found some nice things for my mom for mother’s day so that was exciting!

IMG_8365

I never knew there were so manyΒ  kinds of sunflowers!! My favorite are the ones in the middle called the Summertime Mix. So pretty πŸ™‚ Β  IMG_8364

Looking at all of the garden supplies and plants made me very excited for spring and summer to get here soon πŸ™‚

Alright, off to do family things!

Have a great rest of your Saturday πŸ˜€

Leave a comment

Filed under Circuit, New York, Quick Workout, Spring, Weather

Leave a Reply

