TWO Workouts and a Trail Review

It’s the weekend!
I have two workouts to share today but first, a trail review:

Thursday turned out to be a really great day as far as weather goes, so I went for a nice long walk with my friend and her dog.

We decided to try out Sunny Hollow Nature Area (Trail Map). I have biked at Sunny Hollow a few times before but had only explored about a third of the trails so I was excited walk around and see what was out there.

The trails are located off Hercules Drive in Colchester. It is very easy to find them and they are well marked so it’s easy to find your way around. (That’s a major plus for me because I get lost easily).

Sunny Hollow

The picture above shows where the trails are (Circled in RED) in relation to where you can park your car. This area is dog-friendly and encourages off-leash walking! We ran into 5 other dogs while on our walk and my friend’s dog had a great time playing with them πŸ™‚ In case you are wondering about the dog vs. bike dynamic, all of the cyclists that we encountered were very friendly, cautious, and said hi to my friend’s dog as they biked past. No collisions πŸ˜‰

Waterfall

Nice Little Waterfall

As you walk, the trails eventually take you down a steep hill into a valley with a brook and a waterfall! It’s a really pretty walk, plus there are plenty of places for your dog to cool off in the water if you’re walking in the summer months.

Pup

Cute Pup

We walked for about 1.5 hours and by the end, I’m pretty sure our furry companion was quite tired πŸ™‚
If you’re in the Burlington area and are looking for a place to walk, run, or bike, definitely try out Sunny Hollow – Especially if you have a dog/dogs!

Now, on to workouts!

Thursday’s workout, before the nice walk outside, focused on lower body moves and was probably one of the hardest leg/buns workouts I’ve ever created! It was awesome!

Lower Body CardioSo, in case the instructions aren’t clear, I thought I’d explain them a little. There are four “parts” to this workout: a, b, c, and d. There are three moves per “part”. The moves are to be done in order, and repeated two or three times. The pink-colored moves are cardio exercises and should be done at high intensity because they are meant to increase your heart rate.

So if you are going to do all three sets,Β  part a should look like this: 10 toe raises, 10 squat jumps, 10 leg presses/squats, 10 toe raises, 10 squat jumps, 10 leg presses/squats, 10 toe raises, 10 squat jumps, 10 leg presses/squats.

Take a 1-2 minute break after completing part a, then move on to part b. Keep this pattern going until you are done with part d!

This was a tough workout and my legs were definitely feeling it on the bike the next day.

Friday’s workout focused on upper body moves.

Upper Body Heavy Weights

I started out with 30 minutes of cardio, going easy on my legs since they were so beat from Thursday’s workout. I called this the Upper Body Heavy-Weights workout because I did fewer moves than usual but used heavier weights. I find that doing this every once in a while is a good way to make sure you are improving your strength.

OK so let me know if you try any of these workouts or if you go and check out Sunny Hollow!

Have a great weekend πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Filed under Lower-Body Workout, Trail Review, Uncategorized, Upper-Body Workout

Leave a Reply

