Getting Fired Up

It is most definitely Spring in Vermont. If you have never been to this part of the US during the spring months of April and May, I’ll describe it to you in one word: Variable.

For example, yesterday morning, I put on warm leggings, a t-shirt, a sweat shirt, and my rain jacket. I was also wearing Toms (no socks). The temperature was around 40 and I was pretty chilly walking outside! By 2pm, the temperature had gotten up to the low 70’s and I was comfortably walking around outside in both the sun and in the shade wearing a tank top and wishing I had shorts on…feeling quite warm even when the wind was blowing! I feel like I need to pack a separate outfit for the afternoon because the weather is that different by 2 or 3pm!

Anyways, enough about the weather. Let’s talk about getting fired up for a workout.
When I wake up in the morning, before getting out of bed, I typically think about what I am going to do that day; what I have planned, errands that I need to get done, what I’m going to do for a workout, etc.
Some days, when I get to the “thinking about my workout” part, I don’t want to think about it. That’s what happened this morning. I’ll find myself thinking something like “ohh I’ll just take another rest day” or “my body feels too tired to exercise today.”
I’m not saying you should ignore those kinds of thoughts, especially if you did something big the previous day like a crazy leg workout or a long hike…but yesterday was my active rest day and I went for a leisurely walk so my body definitely isn’t too tired for a workout today!
SO here’s what I do in this situation:

1.) Get up and STRETCH – keep in mind, these thoughts all went through my head while I was still in bed…so of course I feel a little sleepy, I’m still laying down!! If you get up and move a little, stretching your muscles, you’re bound to feel more awake and ready for the day.

2.) Drink some WATER- and then maybe some coffee 😉 I feel like drinking water first thing in the morning wakes up my body from the inside out. Think about it this way – you’ve been  laying for 7 or 8 hours with nothing really going on in your body, except for a little digestion of your dinner maybe. If the first thing going into your body when you wake up is a glass of water, think about how clean and nice that feels as it passes through your body, hydrating as it moves along! Maybe that sounds weird but I encourage you to try drinking a glass or two of water right when you wake up 🙂 And if you’re still really tired, have some coffee or tea!

hydration

Coffee and Water!

3.) Put your Gym Clothes ON – When it comes time to go to the gym, just put your gym clothes on and then see how you feel about going. This seems like a weird thing to do but just put them on without thinking about why you shouldn’t go and I can guarantee you, you’re more likely to get to the gym once you’re dressed for it!

4.) Listen to some TUNES – Here are some to get ya goin’
Digital Love (Daft Punk)
Work Out (J Cole) – I mean, the song is called Work Out…how could it not make you wanna go to the gym?!
Black or White (Michael Jackson)
Back that Azz Up (Juvenile) – this one’s a classic…guilty pleasure that is.
Gonna Make You Sweat (C + C Music Factory) – This one really IS a classic
I’ve Got The Power (SNAP) – and by this point you can now tell that I love 90’s tunes

Just listening to one of these songs is enough to get me pumped up and ready to go!

OR if you have a smart-phone and use Pandora here are a few good workout playlists… in my opinion 😉
Drake + Lil’ Wayne + Kanye West (mostly rap = good for weight training)
“We Found Love” by Rihanna (lots of lady-pop tunes)
C+C Music Factory + Notorious BIG (This is a playlist full of 80’s and 90’s tunes like Jock Jams, Mariah Carey, Michael Jackson, etc. A great running playlist)

Last night, I downloaded Kanye’s album My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy and am excited to listen to that today at the gym. Yay for music!

OK so now that we’re all pumped up and ready to work out, here’s a lower body workout for you to do today!
Lower Body New Moves

Lower Body “New Moves” Workout – This workout includes some moves that I have never tried before! It’s good to switch things up by trying out different ways to work the same muscles.

EXPLANATION OF EXERCISES:

Braced Squat – Hold a dumbell or weight plate straight out in front of you while you squat. This moves engages your core and your shoulders as you keep your trunk upright while holding the weight.

Overhead Dumbell Squat – Holding a pair of dumbells with straight arms up in the air, hands positioned directly over your shoulders, feet slightly wider than shoulder width, squat down and back up. This move also works the core and you will need to tighten it in order to stay balanced since your arms are above you.

Bridge Hip Raise with Knee Taps – While in bridge position, keeping your buns and abs tight, tap your knees together and bring them back to starting position. One tap = one repetition.

OK well let me know if you try this workout!! And have a great day. It’s almost the weekend, yay!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Hydration, Lower-Body Workout, Motivation, Uncategorized, Workout Music

Leave a Reply

