To Work Out or Rest When You’re Sick + A Total Body Quick and Simple Workout

It’s Monday! I hope everyone had a good weekend πŸ™‚
I spent a lot of time outside and went for my first trail bike ride of the year! The weather was perfect and it was so much fun.

Mondays are my “Total Body” day and I had intended on doing another Strength + Cardio workout at the gym. I woke up this morning with a sore throat…and that brings me to the “To Work Out or Rest When You’re Sick” part of the post.

Here are a few things that I usually consider when making this decision:
1.) Do I feel sick in the head-cold kind of way or in the stomach bug kind of way? If it’s a stomach bug feeling, I definitely will not go to the gym. Not only would it feel terrible but I wouldn’t want to risk giving it to other people!

2.) If I have a head cold, how bad is it…do I also have a cough? If so, I probably shouldn’t work out because cardiovascular exercise tends to make that worse…at least for me it does.

3.) Will I feel better or worse afterwards if I work out today?
If the answer is no, it’s a clear sign that you should take a rest day πŸ˜‰

 
Today, my only symptom before heading to the gym was a slightly sore throat so I figured I’d give a workout a try and if it felt really bad, I would stop. During my warm-up, I started to feel really tired so I did 20 minutes instead of 30+. I also decided to do a modified total body workout without any cardio bursts just to tone things down a little.

Here’s what my workout looked like in the end:

Total Body Quick and Simple
As well as removing the cardio bursts between strength moves, I only did two sets of each exercise instead of three. By the end of the workout, I was happy that I had done at least some strength work and my body was happy that I didn’t go crazy with the weights πŸ˜‰

What do you do about working out when you’re not feeling 100%?

Have a great Monday everyone!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Biking, Quick Workout, Total Body Workout, Weather

Leave a Reply

