Marathon Weekend!

Hello!
This weekend was crazy! I had a bunch of friends visiting from out of town which was really fun 🙂 Then today, Burlington exploded with runners for the Key Bank Vermont City Marathon! It’s one of my favorite days of the year because everyone comes out to cheer whether they know someone running or not.
There are lots of options as far as being involved in the race. If you don’t want to run a full marathon, there are two relay options; a two-person team where each person gets to run a half-marathon and a 3-5 person team. So regardless of how far you like to run, there’s a place for everyone in the marathon! I usually end up on a relay team but this year I was just watching.
My dad ran the whole marathon (at 63 years old!!) so my whole family was there to cheer him on. Unfortunately, the weather was less than ideal for a race…a high of around 50 degrees and raining for almost the entire time…but that didn’t seem to slow people down!

So between visiting with friends and watching an exciting race, it was a pretty busy weekend!

Now, I have a new workout to share today that gave me that whole-body sore feeling when I woke up this morning so I’d say it’s a keeper.

I called it the AMRAP Workout because your goal is to do as many reps as possible of the two sets of moves that I put together.

AMRAP Upper Lower

I started the workout with a 5k on the treadmill as a warm up.

So, to begin the AMRAP Workout, set a timer to 10 minutes. Starting with the lower body set, complete the indicated number of reps of each move without taking a break between moves. Once you have done all of the lower body moves, start gain from the top of the list and keep on going in this pattern until you reach ten minutes. Once the ten minutes are done, reset the timer and do the same thing with the upper body moves!

It’s fun to compete with yourself and try to complete as many rounds as you can 🙂

Because it’s kind of a race against time, it takes your mind off of the workout and makes it actually go by really fast!

I ended up feeling like I neglected my abs after the workout so I did some planks and v-ups after.

As always, let me know if you try the workout and how it goes!!

Hope everyone is having a great Memorial Day weekend!!

Leave a comment

Filed under AMRAP, Burlington, Lower-Body Workout, Marathon, Upper-Body Workout, Weather

Leave a Reply

