Happy Christmas Eve + Two Workouts!

Hello and Happy Christmas  Eve!!
I hope everyone has been able to travel safely over the past few days. The weather in VT has been pretty bad for driving :/

I am not traveling anywhere but my grandparents are coming to our house today, if the weather turns out fine. They were supposed to arrive yesterday so they have postponed their drive once already because of icy roads!

Although I haven’t gone to the gym in three days and am going a little stir-crazy, it has been a fun and productive weekend. Saturday was spent Christmas shopping with my parents. ALL day. Fun, but super tiring. Knowing we’d be out for a most of the day, I decided to get my workout in right when I woke up.
I did four Blogilates videos, the first of which involved doing ten sets of ten different kinds of Burpees…Yep, you read that right….I started off my Saturday with 100 Burpees! Ahhhh!! I felt a little crazy jumping around in my room before anyone else was awake but when I realized that our shopping was going to take until late afternoon, I was so happy to have already done my workout.

On Sunday, my mom and I baked for FOUR HOURS!!
Here are some of the things we made:

IMG_9819

Waffle Pretzels with a Hershey Hug melted on top, topped with a mint M&M!
IMG_9822

Peppermint Bark with a shortbread base rather than white chocolate.

IMG_9824
Classic Thumbprint Cookies 😀

We also made some “white trash” which is just like a Chex Mix with pretzels, M&M’s and peanuts, coated in white chocolate. Pretty darn tasty.

And then yesterday, I had planned on going to the gym but there was a tree across our driveway and I couldn’t be bothered to go and move it. SO I did my own workout in my room.

So that brings us back to Friday as my most recent gym day during which I did a fun Elliptical workout that I’d like to share with you! I wanted to get in some solid cardio and an arm/upper back workout. My first choice for cardio at the gym is the Treadmill but I felt some pain in my hamstring after my run on Wednesday so I figured the elliptical was the way to go for my workout today. I dealt with a very annoying pain in my hamstring all summer and it’s finally at a manageable state so I try to back off from running if I feel any pain in that area 😉 In my experience with running, it’s wayyyy better to be safe than sorry!!

I never really plan out workouts on the elliptical for some reason but I did on Friday and I’m really glad that I did! I felt like I got an awesome workout and the intervals made it all fly by 😉

Here’s what I did:
ImageI call it the “Burn off the Christmas Cookies” workout because it will totally burn some fat. What makes the elliptical so difficult, for me, is that you can’t just choose a speed and zone out. If you want to go 9mph, you have to make yourself do it and focus on keeping that speed for the entire interval! If I catch myself zoning out, I always see that I have slowed down accidentally. SO keep your focus throughout this workout and it will get you all hot and sweaty for sure!!

The last 0.2 miles of the workout you should be going as fast as you can with the resistance anywhere between 10 and 15. Just put on a crazy-motivational song and push through!!

For the arms and upper body portion of my workout, I stuck with a few classic moves to target my biceps, triceps, shoulders, and back. Here’s my strength routine from today’s workout:

Classic Arms + Back

This workout was quick and did the job 🙂

And I’m about to go to the gym today and do a sweaty cardio workout followed by a lower body routine! I’ll wait  until after I’m done before posting it 😉

I hope you all have a wonderful Holiday!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

