A New Treadmill Workout! 5k in 25:15

Good Afternoon and Happy New Year!!
It’s 2014 Woo!

I hope everyone had a fun New Year’s Eve! I ended up going to Montreal with my boyfriend and had a fantastic time!
We went to an indoor market called Marche Jean-Talon and had fun looking at all of the beautiful fruits, veggies, and baked goods before getting some lunch πŸ™‚

Image

Β 

Lots of yummy-looking fruits!

Image

Fancy Macarons!

We decided to be adventurous and get lunch at a place where the entire menu was in French. We both remember some French from high school but not enough to have been able to read the menu clearly. We decided to share two different meals: a salad topped with feta cheese and tomato and a baked polenta gratin that was basically a mini baked polenta loaf served on marinara sauce with a little melted cheese on top. Both meals came with a bowl of green veggie soup that was surprisingly delicious! Of the two meals that we chose, the polenta was my favorite. It was just above zero degrees outside so I’m pretty sure that’s why I liked the warm food better than the salad – although both were very tasty πŸ™‚
After eating lunch, we headed over to a bakery that we had our eye on. There were SO many choices but the one that really stood out for me was a raspberry scone. It didn’t look like any scone I had ever had but it looked really good so that’s what I got!

Image

Yummmmy scone! Looking at it makes me wish I had one right now. πŸ˜›

The rest of our time was spent exploring, enjoying tasty wine, a ridiculously good dinner in Old Montreal, and celebrating the start of a new year!!

Soooo now that the holidays are all done – and it feels like it was holiday time for a solid two weeks with Christmas and New Year’s both falling in the middle of the week – I started this week feeling really ready to get back into a solid workout routine. I kind of relaxed about my workout schedule for the first week of the year because my boyfriend was visiting and we had so much that we wanted to do! I did get in a few good workouts at the gym, but I didn’t really put a lot of time into it since we were busy doing other things πŸ˜€ It’s all about balance and making time for fun as well as fitness πŸ˜‰

Anyway, today was an awesome gym day so I had to share my workout with you all.Β 
I decided to do a treadmill workout that focused on endurance as well as speed. The workout involved quickly building up to 8mph and slowly going back down to 7mph. After a half-mile warm up, I increased my speed every tenth of a mile by 0.2mph. Once I got up to 8mph, I decreased my speed every tenth of a mile this time byΒ only 0.1mph. So the increase in speed happened quickly and the decrease happened slowly, meaning my speed stayed above 7mph for 1.5 miles total… Then I did some quick 8mph pick-ups for the last mile.
So, in case you want to save the workout and bring it to the gym to try it out, here it is!
Image

Β 

I called it the “Up-Down” 5k workout because it’s all about making the speed go up and down at specific intervals πŸ™‚
Another fun thing about this workout is that you’ll end up doing a 5k in 25:15 which is something to be pretty proud of! If you want to modify the workout to make it easier or harder, you can just change the speed to match your fitness needs. But keep the length of the intervals the same because the whole idea is to work on endurance, and then speed.

OK I hope everyone’s week is going great so far and that people are doing some awesome workouts in this new year!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

