Timed Workout!

Hello on this fine day.

I hope everyone had a great weekend!!

Here are some photos from the last few days:

IMG_8452

The daffodils are in bloom at my house and make things look so fresh and new!

IMG_8470

I spent a lot of time down by the lake on Saturday and Sunday, taking in the views and the sun.

IMG_8483

On Sunday, I took a nice bike ride from my friend’s apartment all the way down to the water and spent a good two hours laying in the sand, skipping rocks, and eating tasty food 🙂

IMG_8484

And a mandatory picture of the pup! She’s loving the warm weather because it means she gets to swim every day! That’s one happy dog.

Today I am sharing a Timed Total Body workout that I did yesterday at the gym. It was a really nice change to my usual workouts where I do a set number of reps for each exercise. It’s normal to be a little sore when you make a change in the way you’re exercising…like if I’ve been mainly running for exercise and then I switch to biking for a few days, I’ll feel a little sore because of the change of muscle usage. Because this total body workout didn’t include any new moves, I didn’t expect to be unusually sore after completing it but I guess making it a timed workout rather than a “reps” workout was exactly the change I needed to make in order to feel the burn the next day!

I woke up with sore upper-back muscles, shoulders, triceps, and quads!! I was pretty excited 🙂

SO here’s the workout!

Total Body 2 May 6th
The workout is split up into four sections and each section focuses on an area of your body. Arms are first, then Legs/Buns, Back & Shoulders next, and finally Abs. Each exercise is done for 30 seconds and your goal is to do as many reps as you can (with good form, of course!) in that 30 seconds.

The whole thing took about 30 minutes plus my warm-up which was a quick 2 miles on the treadmill. Overall, it’s a tough workout that takes up about 45 minutes total. Not bad!

I think the best way to go about it is to set a timer for 40 seconds and set it to repeat at the end so that it just keeps on counting down 40 seconds over and over again. Press start and wait 10 seconds. Once your timer reads 30 seconds remaining, begin the workout!

I’ll explain one section in detail and then just follow this same pattern for the three other sections.

SO, for the Arms section – Do bicep curls until the timer goes off. Rest 10 seconds, then start the triceps extensions until the timer beeps again. Rest 10 seconds, then begin doing push ups. After 30 seconds of push ups, rest for 10 seconds and go right back into the bicep curls. The 1-2 minute break happens after you have done 3 rounds of the 30 seconds of each exercise.

This was a really fun way to do a strength workout because the time flies by but you’re still working very hard for a solid 30 minutes!

I’m going to be planning more of these timed workouts in the future 🙂

Have a great day!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Burlington, Dogs, Hydration, Spring, Total Body Workout, Water, Weather

Leave a comment